top of page
/previous editions/2019

Chocolate awards conclude the 2019 Brussels Independent Film Festival

The 2019 edition of the Brussels Independent Film Festival closed on Saturday evening with the presentation of the 'Atomium Film Awards'. The filmmakers were crowned with Belgian chocolate and thus edible medallions of the Atomium, made by 'Gault & Millau Finest Chocolatier' Wim Vyverman.

The prize for the best narrative feature film was a tie and went to both 'My Thesis Film: A Thesis Film by Erik Anderson' (Canada) by Erik Anderson and 'Majnuni' (Bosnia and Herzegovina) by Kouros Alaghband. In Persian and Arabic, the title 'Majnuni', translates as unfulfilled longing or a particular strain of love-mania that in some cases is aimed at the divine. In this film, we follow a modern-day Majnun, a musical stalker named Adnan, who stalks a broken family and his ex-lover through the war-torn spring of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. The madness of his longing spirals him into a musical fugue where he begins to lose his identity and chases after his old love. The film was made under the mentorship of Béla Tarr and had its international premiere at the Brussels Independent Film Festival. The co-winner of the 'best narrative feature film' award Erik Anderson was present at the awards ceremony on Saturday to accept the chocolate award for his film 'My Thesis Film: A Thesis Film by Erik Anderson', which had its European premiere at the festival. A 4-hour long epic look on the struggles of a filmmaker and his quest for a thesis concept which will not only satisfy himself as an artist, but his university and the industry at large.

Belgian director Meltse Van Coillie was also present during the award ceremony to accept the award of 'Best Belgian Film' for her amazing short film 'Elephantfish'. In this film we find ourselves aboard of a cargo ship, drifting in an endless sea. This vast emptiness in time and space is something the sailors cope with in their own ways. Imagination rises from beneath the surface and gradually takes the helm.

The prize for the best documentary feature was for 'Acta Non Verba' (Switzerland) by Yvann Yagchi. 'Diva & Astro' (United States) by Angel Barroeta received the prize for best narrative short film. The best documentary short film went to 'Cleaning Schaerbeek' (Lebanon) by Farah Kassem. The best experimental film was for Matthias De Groof and his film 'Lobi Kuna' (Belgium). The best music video award went to 'Son Lux // The Fool You Need' (United States) by Jean-Paul Frenay. Last, but not least 'Shadow' (China) by Lei Lei won the prize for best animated film.

Out of more than 2,000 entries, 81 films were selected to be screened. All the screenings of this edition were practically fully booked. The 2019 edition started on February 10 in the Atomium and continued until February 16 with screenings at Cinema Galeries and Cinema Ritcs.

The Brussels Independent Film Festival found its inspiration with the Brussels International Independent Film Festival, which started in 1974 but ended in 2012. The festival focused on experimental, provocative films. Among others Pedro Almodóvar, François Ozon and Nanni Moretti were invited. "Our down-to-earth approach of the festival concept is being appreciated by both the audience and filmmakers.", says organizer Kris De Meester. "No red carpet, nor fancy parties or endless Q&A's, but intimate screenings of challenging work from across the globe."

Official selection 2019

Best Narrative Feature Film: a tie between

My Thesis Film: A Thesis Film By Erik Anderson (Canada) by Erik Anderson

Majnuni (Bosnia and Herzegovina) by Kouros Alaghband

Best Documentary Feature Film: Acta Non Verba (Switzerland) by Yvann Yagchi

Best Belgian Film: Elephantfish (Belgium) by Meltse Van Coillie

Best Narrative Short Film: Diva & Astro (United States) by Angel Barroeta

Best Documentary Short Film: Cleaning Schaerbeek (Lebanon) by Farah Kassem

Best Experimental Film: Lobi Kuna (Belgium) by Matthias De Groof

Best Music Video: Son Lux // The Fool You Need (United States) by Jean-Paul Frenay

Best Animated Film: Shadow (China) by Lei Lei

A Doll's Hug (Taiwan) by Rob Chihhwen Lo

Pain Is Mine (Australia) by Farshid Akhlaghi

The Dead Man Speaks (The Netherlands) by Marcos Mereles

Happy New Year (The Netherlands by Brandon Grötzinger, Wander Theunis

Etangs Noirs (Belgium) by Pieter Dumoulin, Timeau De Keyser

Island (Germany) by Max Mörtl, Robert Löbel

Passage (Canada) by Henry Colin

Pause (Cyprus) by Tonia Mishiali

Humandroid Lovers (Germany) by Anna Jordan Project

Anita (Mexico) by Lucero Adriana Hernández Camargo

Me, Documented (United Kingdom) by Caity Lougheed

2nd Class (Sweden) by Jimmy Olsson

Nap With Roger - Paris (United States) by Victor Mignatti

In Bloom (United Kingdom) by Maya Armon

A Dog Leashed (United States) by Dane Cree

Ophelia (France) by Eric Du Bellay

Compared To Me (Belgium) by Simon Van Der Zande

Waithood (Belgium) by Louisiana Mees

Vacuum (Malaysia) by Gabriel Gabriel Garble

The Bitter With The Sweet (Germany) by Ann Sophie Lindström

Fragments 83 (United States) by Richard Millen, Corentin Koskas

Rita (Greece) by George Danopoulos

The Ballad (Canada) by Haya Waseem

Flora (United States) by Chaerin Im

Inventory Of Time (Brazil) by Khalil Charif

Koka, The Butcher (Germany) by Bence Máté

Can't Take My Eyes Off You (United States) by Gabriele Fabbro

First Kiss (United Kingdom) by Ali Aschman

Think Of Something Blue (The Netherlands)  by De Mars

Tokio.Papa (Russian Federation) by Lada Savenkova

Scandal (Réunion) by Pablo Mengin-Lecreulx

This Particular Feeling (Canada) by Jocelyne Laliberté

The Dream Hatcher (Russian Federation) By Mel Hsieh

Divisional Articulations (Hong Kong)By Max Hattler

Hurry Slowly (Norway) by Anders Emblem

Sculpt The Motion (Italy) By Devis Venturelli

The Kingdom Of Men (Hong Kong) By Sham Kwan Yin

Mr. Darcy (China) by Xuyu Zhang

Kev (Belgium) by Clémence Hébert

How Can I Tell You (France) by Barbara Creutz

Vonnis (Belgium) by Walt Bladt

As Trees We Will Return (Belgium) by Mira Borghs

Deer Boy (Poland) by Katarzyna Gondek

Kresala (Belgium) by June Laka

Reset (netherlands) by Aldine Reinink

Sleep On The Tracks (Canada) by Jasmin Mozaffari

Nicabob (United States) by Daneeta Loretta Jackson, Patrick Jackson

Flotating (Spain) by Frankie De Leonardis

Black Dog (United States) by Joshua Tuthill

Maned & Macho (Iran, Islamic Republic Of) by Shiva Sadegh Asadi

Passage (Australia) by Ashley Young

Pale Blue Me (Austria) by Theresa Haas, Maurice Miller

Nebula (Poland) by Marcin Nowrotek

Nocturnes (France) by Emmanuel Levy

Chess (Germany) by Aniqo, Anita Goss, Sebastian Ganschow, Peter Hönnemann

Appocundria (Italy) by Mino Capuano

I Come From The Fire City (United States) by Daniel Daly

Dalaimalaya (Belgium) by Manu Gomez

Seascape (Belgium) by Leni Huyghe

Dispersion (Switzerland) by Basile Vuillemin

Fake News (Greece) by Dimitris Katsimiris

Elisa (germany) by Kristina Kean Shtubert

Sleepers (The Netherlands) by Danny Maas

Parting Shot (Turkey) by Özgür Cem Aksoy

The Velvet Underground Played At My High School (United States) by Robert Pietri, Tony Jannelli

Into The Stream (United Kingdom) by Alexey Marfin

The Dancer (France) by Anaïs Desmond

Open Wide (United Kingdom) by Behnam Taheri, Gideon Beresford

Onikuma (Italy) by Alessia Cecchet

Aranay (Cuba) by Rudolf Fitzgerald-Leonard

Songs In The Sun (Denmark) by Kristian Sejrbo Lidegaard

bottom of page